Ekam Ashtanga Yoga Class (In Person) Group Class

60 Minutes

Ekam Ashtanga Yoga Class (In Person) Group Class
  • About
  • Gallery
  • Itinerary
  • Location
  • Things to keep in mind

Ashtanga Yoga is a dynamic and physically demanding style of yoga that follows a specific sequence of postures and is characterized by a continuous flow of movement linked with breath. Here are some key features and characteristics of Ashtanga Yoga:

  1. Vinyasa Flow: Ashtanga is known for its emphasis on Vinyasa, the synchronization of breath with movement. Each movement is linked to either an inhalation or exhalation, creating a flowing and continuous practice.
  2. Fixed Sequence: The practice follows a predetermined series of postures, and each series has a specific order. The primary series, also known as Yoga Chikitsa, is the foundational sequence, and practitioners progress to more advanced series as they master each level.
  3. Three Series: Ashtanga is traditionally divided into three series – Primary Series (Yoga Chikitsa), Intermediate Series (Nadi Shodhana), and Advanced Series (Sthira Bhaga). Each series builds upon the previous one, offering increasing levels of challenge.
  4. Breath and Bandhas: The practice incorporates Ujjayi breath, a specific breathing technique that produces a sound similar to ocean waves, helping to build internal heat and focus the mind. Bandhas, or energy locks, are engaged to enhance breath control and maintain stability during challenging poses.
  5. Drishti (Gaze): Practitioners are instructed to focus their gaze on specific points, known as drishtis, throughout the practice. This helps in maintaining concentration, balance, and a meditative state.
  6. Mysore Style: In a traditional Ashtanga class, students often practice in a Mysore-style setting, where they move through the series at their own pace, and the teacher provides individualized guidance and adjustments. This allows for a personalized approach to the practice.
  7. Daily Practice: Consistency is key in Ashtanga Yoga. Practitioners are encouraged to establish a daily practice, and progression through the series is typically based on mastery of each posture rather than time spent practicing.
  8. Spiritual Aspect: Ashtanga Yoga is not just a physical practice; it incorporates spiritual elements. The combination of breath, movement, and concentration is believed to purify the body and mind, leading to a deeper connection with one's inner self.

Ashtanga Yoga is well-suited for individuals who enjoy a structured and disciplined approach to their yoga practice, as well as those seeking physical and mental challenges through a consistent and progressive series of postures.